Reviews and events

#12BeersofXmas – Day 2 – Yadokai


Final day of work before Christmas for us both today, so we’ve found a big beer to celebrate. I first had Wild Beer Yadokai last year when Becky bought it for my birthday and I was very impressed, so much that I went out and bought another bottle and stashed it away.
There were a few issues with subsequent releases, and I wasn’t quite sure if my bottle was affected or not, so thought best to save it for a while. The openness about the issues was admirable, and although there was inevitable disappointment I think Wild Beer addressed it well at the time.

With their reputation for pushing boundaries its a shame that there was a slip, but I haven’t been put off from opening this, or any of their other beers I have overwhelmingly enjoyed since. Here’s hoping that it pours well and without the jellification some reported at the time of purchase.

The beer itself is described as influenced by ‘things that are Japanese’ and was created in collaboration with the Hanging Bat Brew Co, chef Tim Anderson of Nanban, and the now sadly closed Blackfriars Bar/Restaurant of Edinburgh. They must have been on full alert at the collaboration station that day.

The result is designed to be Sake-like, and given the importance that both Blackfriars and Nanban placed on beer and food matching, it should pair well with the Hirata beef buns we have for dinner. Unfortunately due to pre-Christmas rushing about we ate those about two hours ago, but still…

So, to the pour. I can see quite a lot of sediment in the bottle, so once I got the (pissing) wax and cap off, I poured slowly. A few bubbles but no head or foam, I’m glad to say that it poured clear. The initial aroma and colour reminds me of a delicious Spanish cider I had over the summer, but there is a far more restrained sweetness here.

I think I may have had Sake once, and sea buckthorn never, so I’m mainly recognising Yuzu from the initial sips – which to me is kind of a midpoint between lemon and bitter orange, almost Marmalade-like. With an abv of 13%, Yadokai harnesses that strength gracefully, with no burn but a constant warmth with every swig. There’s also a savoury, salty presence from the addition of seaweed to the boil, and for me this adds a further layer of intrigue, keeping the citrus on its toes, and further hinting at the provenance of its ingredients.

Overall, I think this is a really difficult beer to pin down, I would gladly drink it again and again, and it’s a beer I would like to recommend, albeit with caveats – I love it, but it’s not for everyone – and one I’d like to see people’s reactions too. Over to Becky for her take on tonight’s choice.

‘When Gareth first handed me this and I had a sniff I though he’d abandoned having a beer and just poured me 2/3 of fortified wine! There’s also a hint of cider on the nose taking me back to my teenage days talking to huey on the big white telephone. (Feel free to tweet me if you don’t get that and I’ll find you an appropriate gif). On looking at the glass I didn’t think I’d be keen. I like a good fizz on my beer and this is fairly flat but the more I drink the more it’s growing on me. I couldn’t tell you what flavours I’m getting because this is quite a strong beer and I’m struggling to feel my own face at this point. If you like winey, cidery beer then this is for you!!’

There you go! We’ve got some seasonal belters coming up in the next few days too, so this week should be getting more and more festive.

Standard

Leave a Reply

